Justin Bieber releases new single ‘Heartbreaker’

The singer released his first new song in ages, an R&B ballad titled ‘Heartbreaker,’ and apparently refers to his romance with Selena Gomez.

The singer released his first new song in ages, an R&B ballad titled ‘Heartbreaker,’ and apparently refers to his romance with Selena Gomez.

Justin Bieber released a new single on Monday, his first sign of new music since January, as part of a 10-week “Music Mondays” plan to debut new music. The pop star, 19, announced the iTunes release of “Heartbreaker,” an R&B ballad. “It’s a song for people going through heartbreak – like I was when I wrote it,” Bieber wrote, in a description posted on Twitter.

“It means so much to me to be able to share what I was, and still am going through, with my fans. I’m very proud of this song and I hope it gives my fans some insight into my heart.”

He’s likely referring to the split from singer Selena Gomez. Bieber and Gomez, 21, went separate ways in November, but the apparent on-and-off couple have been seen together in several instances since then.

“He and I have such a history together,” Gomez said of her ex in an interview with “Good Morning America.” “I’ll always care about him and protect him if anyone tries to be mean.”

The not-so-subtle allusion to his on-and-off romance with Gomez comes through in the pop star’s first new music since ‘Believe: Acoustic.’ In “Heartbreaker,” Bieber sings a solemn tune of still wanting the love he recently had. “So what I’m really tryin’ to say is, and what I hope you understand/ Is despite all the imperfections of who I am I still wanna be your man” he sings.

“This is for me and you/And I want you to know that I still love you.”

Leave a Reply

Dusty Springfield Drama Set to Premiere at the L.A. Shorts Film Festival

Set in 1970, “The Soul of Blue Eye” tells the story of Dusty Springfield’s decision to record her Platinum selling hit Son of a Preacher Man for Atlantic Records, and the struggles she had as a white gay woman singing black soul music during the tumultuous 1960’s. Besides having a hit show, “It Must Be Dusty” in […]

